EA Sports Active

January 31, 2012

So I decided to try something new today. EA Sports Active Personal Trainer.  This is supposed to be help you revolutionize your workout with the ultimate interactive experience with tons of exercise to choose from all from the convenience of your living room! What they don’t tell you is that it comes with a pushy coach who fusses at you if you move to slow, and that the exercises will have you in some serious pain.

I started with the 30 Minute Workout (Hard), which is a full body circuit training featuring cardio and toning exercises. I figured I had been working out pretty consistently for the past month and that I should be able to make it through a 30 minute workout on the Wii. Apparently I have learned nothing so far and I set my self up for trouble. This workout kicked my BOOTAY up, down and around the block, came back and smacked me up side the head!

Today’s Exercises

Dance Fast (This was kind of an awkward warm up, you are supposed to follow the movements of the people on the screen, they had no rhythm, and I am still not sure what kind of dancing they were doing)

Squats (After 5 minutes of yelling at the screen, I skipped this exercise. I could not for the life of me figure out how to get the lady on the screen to move, and if she does not move the “coach” tells you how bad you are doing on the exercise, so since I am a partial quitter I gave up and I moved on.)

Alternating Lunges (Yep, I skipped this one too, still have not figured out what I was doing wrong, and I can only stay in the lunge position for so long before my legs start to shake and I  fall out on the floor.)

Targets & Heavy Bags (Punching, I did great with these.)

Bent over Rows with Triceps Kickbacks (I was confused at first, but I finally figured out that you have to point the stupid remote down in order to move through that part of  the workout.)

Upright Rows (Easy)

Run, Knees & Kick Ups 1 (Not my finest moment at all, apparently I am not even capable of running in place!)

Squats (Skipped again.)

Jump Squats (By this time, I was HURTING, and the “coach” kept saying I needed to make more of an effort, ok lady I will get right on that!)

Alternating Lunges (Skipped again…sigh.)

Jump Lunges (OUCH)

Pitching & Batting (Did okay for the first time)

Bent over Rows with Triceps Kickbacks (Yeah, I am smart, I can figure out to work this thing.)

Upright Rows (Done)

Alternating High Knee Reverse Lunges (Ummm no!)

Side to Side Jumps (Sweating and maybe just maybe a few tears)

Inline Skating (complete fail…I was supposed to squat down (while my legs where already burning and shaking) to move faster and then jump to do a trick ….after three tries this got SKIPPED!)

Kick Up Long (Yeah I was supposed to go fast around the track, the “coach” kept saying pick up the pace)

Alternating Triceps Kickbacks (DONE)

Run & Walk Long (I will never ever understand how running three times around the track (on-screen) is supposed to cool you down but whatever!)

Out of the 20 exercise I completed 13 of them all the way through. I got into a one-sided fight with the lady on the screen, because she would not move when I wanted her to. (Turns out I was holding the remote the wrong way), and it took me almost 40 minutes to complete a 30 minute workout (arguing with the screen &  being confused about how stuff was supposed to work will definitely slow you up). But I now know what I am doing kinda and hopefully I will do better tomorrow.

Cheers,

ME!

What's On Your Mind?

