The Mutha of All Workouts!

That was the first thing out of Tony Horton’s mouth……that is not a good sign at all!

Yesterday I worked out with Tony and his crew, Daniel, Joe and Drea (who by the way were some serious BEASTS!) Day three of P90X worked the Shoulders & Arms followed by the Ab Ripper X workout (I only made it half way thru this one, a sista was TIRED!) This was 60 minutes of pure pain. We did 4 rounds of exercises for the Triceps, Biceps and Shoulders. Followed by a lovely Bonus Round and the abdominal routine.  Each round was done twice and after every 3rd exercise we got a 30 second break for some ballistic stretching.  (I was a hot mess the whole time……sigh!) I used 5 lbs for all the exercises and tried (note that I said tried) to do between 12 to 15 reps for each one. (Per Tony: 8 to 10 reps is for big muscles, 12 to 15 is for a nice lean look) I want to be lean and cute, not big and bulky. ( No Body Building Competitions in my future!)

Next time I do this ( some time next week) I will be better, and although I hate to admit this I am probably going to need some heavier weights.

SHOULDER & ARMS

Warmup: 9 minutes

Round 1

Alternating Shoulder Presses: 14 reps (1st) 15 reps (2nd)

In & Out Bicep Curls: 16 reps (1st) 16 reps (2nd)

Two Arm Triceps Kickbacks: 15 reps (1st) 15 reps (2nd)

Ballistic Stretch: 30 seconds

Round 2

Deep Swimmers Press: 15 reps (1st) 15 reps (2nd)

Full Supination Concentration Curls: 10 reps (1st) 10 reps (2nd) – (I have no idea what that means, just take my word, it hurts!)

Chair Dips: 15 reps (1st) 15 reps (2nd)

Ballistic Stretch: 30 seconds

Round 3

Upright Rows: 15 reps (1st) 15 reps (2nd)

Static Arm Curls: 16 reps (1st) 16 reps (2nd)

Flip Grip Twist Kickbacks: 11 reps (1st) 11 reps (2nd)

Ballistic Stretch: 30 seconds

Round 4

Two Angle Seated Shoulder Flys: 16 reps (1st) 16 reps (2nd)

Crouching Cohen Curls: 12 reps (1st) 12 reps (2nd)

Lying Down Triceps Extensions: 15 reps (1st) 20 reps (2nd)

Ballistic Stretch: 30 seconds

BONUS ROUND

Straight Arm Shoulder Flys: 16 reps (1st) 16 reps (2nd)

Congdon Curls: 16 reps (1st) 16 reps (2nd)

Side Tri Rise: 11 reps (right side) 11 reps (left side) – (these are sit ups done while lying on your side, goal is to try to straighten your arm on your way up. This did not happen for me at all.)

It was rough, but I know it is going to be worth it in the end. (That is what I keep telling myself over and over again everyday)

Up next Yoga…..can you feel my excitement?  Is it contagious!

Have a good one!

ME!

What's On Your Mind?

