Mornings with Mookie!

During the summer my niece comes up from Mississippi and stays with my parents. My daughter (JadaBear) packs her bags and moves out of my house, and goes to stay with my parents (who live up the street from us) until her cousin (aka her idol) goes home.  That leaves me at home with my very active, very loud, 3-year-old son.

Every morning without fail this kid gets up and walks into my room before sunrise and says, “Mommy I wake up, and I sleep in my own bed.” (really kid, I’m proud of you but, do I need an announcement every morning?)  Some days he follows it up with a solo on his g’tar (that’s guitar for those of you who don’t speak 3 yr old…He has a guitar that howls so this is always so relaxing.)  Others days he comes in and gets in the bed with me and talks to me and jumps on me until I get up cause he is weally weally humgry! (really hungry) with hands gestures and everything. (he gets his dramatics from his big sister).

The other day he was in rare form. He got up at 3am (he was oh so very cold, and he needed me to put the blanket over his shoulders), 5:30 am (he needed to watch Dora and Bubble Guppies, & could I please change the channels), and 7 am (cause he needs to get up to go see his JadaBear).   When he was finally able to get up out of the bed and play it went a little something like this:

Mookie: Mama can I have that?

Me: What’s that?

Mookie: Come see it’s up there?

Me: You can not have anything off of that shelf it is too loud. (there is a shelf over his dresser mounted to the wall, and there are race cars and trucks up there)

Mookie: Did you say no to me?

Me: Get away from me, please!

Mookie: Mommy you making my head hurt dammit, (yeah he cussed at me) don’t say no to me! (I could not believe what he just said so it took me a minute to stop laughing and to respond.)

Me: What did u say?

Mookie: I don’t know, but I sorry can I have my race car?

Me: No!

My crazy kid stomps back to his room mad and crying, muttering how mama always says no to me….he comes back  five minutes later with the remote control to his race car in his hand! (which was on the shelf above the dresser where he COULD NOT reach it!)

Mookie: Mommy can u get the race car now?

Me: How did you get the remote from up there? (I finally roll out of bed to see what this nut has done!)

Mookie: I threw it up like this (lots of hand gestures and lots of spinning) and it came down.

Me: What? (I have no clue what this boy is talking about, but his room is a HAWT mess!)

Mookie: I threw it (every stuffed animal he had) like this and (more hand gestures and more lots more spinning….I don’t know why) and it came down Mama!

Folks, this kid threw his stuffed animals at the shelf until he was able to push the remote control off of the shelf.

Me: Give me that (snatching the car remote, and trying not to laugh) stop throwing stuff and go sit down somewhere before I hurt you.

Mookie: What? You said no, so I get it myself!

Me: I’m done!

All of this before 8 am? I can’t take it any more, but I gotta give it to the kid, he thought outside the box and he figured out a way to get what he wanted for himself (even if it was the wrong way). I have a feeling that this kid right here,  he is going to be a whole lot of trouble for me, for the rest of my life!

Pray Church, Pray!

ME!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mornings with Mookie!

  1. Tasha July 24, 2012 at 1:53 am Reply

    Oh how funny! In the blink of an eye, you will share these stories with him, and he will swear you are making this all up! I wish you all the energy in the world!

    • hotchocolate05 July 25, 2012 at 6:03 pm Reply

      I know the time goes by so fast…and thanks I am defintely going to need it!

  2. Monica July 25, 2012 at 3:59 pm Reply

    The Lord has blessed you with the best of all possible worlds. Funny kids who keep you entertained daily. God bless you child. We get the kids we deserve.

What's On Your Mind?

