The Thing About Friends

Friendship is the hardest thing in the world to explain. It’s not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.” – Muhammad Ali

Finding friends that stick with you through the good, the bad, and the ugly is a rare and precious thing.  The ones that stand by you in the midst of the storm, and the ones that find you in the middle of the storm, providing you with some much-needed shelter, are the ones you need to hold on to. (Tightly, with both hands, and never let go of!)

I thank God everyday for putting people in my life, who don’t necessarily ask questions but provide an ear, who hold their hands out to grab mine, and pull me out of the quicksand.  For the people who have been praying for me non stop.  Who have shown me unconditional love, kindness and encouragement just because! (Do you know how hard that is to come by?  I do.) I have fallen short in the friend department because of my own issues and/or problems.  I shut folks out and retreated into myself.  But thank God for God, because he knows what I need and he knows when I need it!

He sent people my way who refused to give up on me!  Who knew that a war was being waged against  me, and found a way to make my life easier even if it is was just for moment!  Who showed up out of nowhere with cupcakes and pizza (and maybe even some wine!) because they knew I was having a bad day!  Who talk to me, and with me about any and everything.  Who love my kids (and y’all that right there is a lot!)  Who called me up and promised to ride with me if things get to sticky!  Who offered bail money and jail visits if I were to get locked up. (Just kidding, but not really)  Who text me in the middle of the night to make sure I am okay.  Who laugh with me, and at me when things got to rough, easing the tension.  Who talked me off of the ledge, when I was this close to jumping. (or jumping on someone either way they stopped me!)

Making friends has never been easy for me. The friends I had, I have had for a lifetime. I stopped trying with them, because I was tired of opening up to people and not getting anything back in return.  I know now, that real friendships, the ones that last past a lifetime don’t always require a physical give and take.  What is actually required is the ability to open yourself up to the possibility of something new.  When you do, you end up with an abundance of love from a variety of people who you could have never imagined!  Play dates for the kids, some grown up conversation, family dinners and outings, and wouldn’t you know it, some amazing friends!

Just by saying yes, I have more people to talk to (THANK YOU, SWEET BABY JESUS!) I have people to hang out with, I have people in my life that are funny, interesting and add to my life.  I was in desperate need of life-preserver, and God saw fit to send some amazing people my way.  Friends.  They come in all forms.  And I am grateful for them. (Y’all have no idea how I have been saved!)

So, the thing about friends is that you invite a lot of people into your life, some leave early, some stay all night, some laugh with you, some laugh at you, and some show up really late.  But in the end, after the party has ended, there are a few who stay to help you clean up the mess. (or at least offer)  And most of the time, they aren’t even the ones who made the mess.  These people are your real friends in life.  They are the ones who matter most.

And I thank God for them EVERYDAY!

friendship quote1

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What's On Your Mind?

